Skip to content

Strawberries in May

May 23, 2010

My strawberry plants are 3 years old.  I don’t remember what variety, but I purchased bare-root plants from Nourse Farms in order to have berries that year.  The potentially precarious business of renting can make perennials not worth the money, time, and effort–you might not be there next year to reap the benefits.  With last year’s awful lack of a summer, berry production was fitful at best.  I thought I’d be out of luck this year, since many plants that produce immediately have a short lifespan–two years, sometimes.

But here I am, tasting sweet, ripe, red strawberries in mid May!  What a treat!

Last year the chipmunks started taking chunks out of the berries before we could snag the ripe ones, so we covered them in some netting to save the rest–but only after the blossoms turned to fruit.  With evidence of rabbits this year, I definitely need to cover them.

I don’t think I’ll have enough berries from our double handful of plants, so no strawberry rhubarb pie–for now.  But I will certainly enjoy nibbling a few sun-hot berries when I’ve finished my weeding.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jennifer permalink
    May 24, 2010 7:19 am

    What wonderful pictures! Little strawberry fairies hiding in the grass…

    • May 24, 2010 9:46 am

      Thanks! Those strawberries are very much like little magical fairies hidden away!

Leave a Reply

