Skip to content

vegan cutlets–made with real Vegans!

April 12, 2010

An oven fry craving attacked me last week and hasn’t let go.  I meant to make them with potatoes, but those turned into garlic mashed potatoes with fiddleheads, mushrooms, and fried tofu.  Then I tried earmarking the sweet potatoes for them, but I needed a quick dinner and threw together a sort of sweet potato and swiss chard saag.  So today I bought some russets with every intention of making bean burgers and oven fries.

Except later in the week, I’ve got spaghetti and bean balls and I’m sure there will be protest from a certain quarter if I serve a fried, black bean-based food twice in one week.  Rather than substitute kidney beans, I flipped through the handy-dandy Veganomicon and was stopped mid-flip by Chickpea Cutlets (page 132, for those reading along).  While not everyone may have Vital Wheat Gluten in their kitchen cabinets, I bought a box a while back, hoping to make seitan, but never quite getting there.  So none of the ingredients were so exotic or off-beat that I couldn’t give these a whirl.  I even had fresh sage to throw in instead of the dried.  (and green onions).

The recipe came together with stunning ease and surprisingly little mess.  And can I say–I love vital wheat gluten!  You can actually see these long gray strands of gluten coming together.  They’re what gives these some chew and bite.  Frying was simple, as well, though I had to keep adding oil to the pan.

I plan on serving these tonight with oven fries–spicy maybe, but probably not garlic–and sautéed chard.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Jennifer permalink
    April 13, 2010 6:51 am

    Oooooh, this made me hungry. It was great to hear about your process of figuring out what to make — what a trip from Point A to Point B! The fiddleheads sounded great, too. Thanks!

  2. Jennifer permalink
    April 13, 2010 6:52 am

    I just saw our title. Those vegans sure are tasty, no?

  3. Jennifer permalink
    April 13, 2010 6:53 am

    That would be “your” title. It’s early. Well, not really.

    • April 13, 2010 7:32 am

      Haha! It’s a little early. It’s also very cold this morning! Welcome back frost.

      My meal decisions often hinge on a particular ingredient or recipe. Leftover kale and soft tofu will lead me to quiche if I’m feeling up for a lot of work or scrambled tofu (like scrambled eggs, but vegan–E. doesn’t like the taste of eggs) if I’m feeling lazy.

      The fiddleheads were fantastic. The co-op–River Valley Market–carries them in season, so if you don’t find some yourself, you can try there. Though their rariety (of availability and limited season) makes them pretty pricey.

  4. April 27, 2010 4:31 pm

    The title “vegan cutlets–made with real Vegans!” t is snurfy fun. That means reading it made me kind of snort, laugh and giggle all at the same time.

    • April 27, 2010 4:38 pm

      Snurfy — that may be even better than *snerk,* which is a short snorted laugh, in a rather sarcastic smirking manner.

Leave a Reply

