Skip to content

Around the yard and in the garden

April 2, 2010

A previous occupant of my apartment was an avid flower gardener.  I stick with vegetables and herbs, but am always delighted to see what surprised are making themselves known.

So far, I don’t have much to show by way of the garden–it’s planted, sure, but my only possible seeds are these:

They’re in the bok choi bed and I’m inclined to think they’re baby bok choi.  I didn’t work in rows for this bed, figuring we’d eat the culls as they crowded each other.

This is one of many garlic volunteers.  The field attached to the house was once planted with garlic and the left-behind bulbs still send up spicy shoots.  The bulbs are small, but juicy and sharp in the late summer.  And the scapes transform ordinary pasta or quiche into a gourmet delight.

All other new life in the yard has been existing plants, of the decorative variety.

Daffodils

Vinca blossoms nearly read to unfold into violet stars

I know blackberries are edible, but these wild brambles never offer their sweet fruit to me–the birds always snatch it away before I know it’s there.

Bleeding hearts.  There are both traditionally colored and white bleeding hearts along the treeline.

More bleeding hearts?  Not too sure on this one .  . .

Roses.  Wild or cultivated?

Again, edible, I’ll grant you.  But I haven’t managed to harvest any yet.  The bush is out-of-control huge and typically shielded by pokeweed and other enormous clambering vines.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jennifer permalink
    April 2, 2010 10:10 pm

    Your blog is wonderful! Your recipes make me salivate, the photos are awesome, and your early start on growing (and looking up close at the growing things) is inspiring. Thank you! When I have a few more wee free moments, I’ll try out some of your recipes for sure. Happy spring, Kathy.

  2. April 6, 2010 4:14 pm

    Thanks Jennifer! Great to hear from you and great to hear how much you like the blog!

    Let me know how any of the recipes go when you try them. Happy Spring!

Leave a Reply

