Skip to content

Celebrating rice

February 12, 2010
tags: ,

Until a few years ago, I’d never heard of onigiri.  Of course, I’d also never had sushi until college, so that’s probably understandable. 

Onigiri are rice balls, sometimes with filings, sometimes with seaweed (nori, typically) wrapped around them, sometimes with peas or other things mixed into the rice.  Oh, and you can fry them, too.  Yum.

Onigiri are so simple to make and so delightful to eat that I always wonder why I don’t make them more often.  I really should, especially now that the rice cooker simplifies things further.  Some day soon I’ll use my onigiri skills to make veggie sushi.  I can hear the avocado roll calling me . . . .

I use instructions from Maki’s site, Just Hungry.  She provides clear tutorials with illustrative photos and several methods for making onigiri, including bare hands, cling wrap, and rice molds (Cooking  Cute has a great tutorial on rice molds).  She also discusses potential fillings, traditional and not.

What are you waiting for?  Cook some rice and join in!  iflambe helped me make this batch.  I served these for dinner with an onion-y miso soup and edamame.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

