Skip to content

A simple sandwich

January 6, 2010
simple lunch

Lunch!

Monday’s bread was put to good use today.  Last night I  made hummus following the Veganomicon recipe (page 67 for those reading along).

Hummus at home

fresh hummus

I added a bit more tahini than it calls for, about a tablespoon more.  Much fresher than the store-bought kind, even the locally processed ones.  I also put my brand-spanking-new mini food processor to good use making the hummus!  The authors are right, a food processor doesn’t get it as smooth since it doesn’t have the funneling action of a blender.  But I don’t have a blender and have little desire to acquire one (space limitations, disuse of the one that went kaput, current ownership of both an immersion blender and now a mini food processor) so I’ll enjoy my slightly less smooth hummus.

And the use for the hummus?  A sandwich of course!  Pairs delightfully with sourdough bread.  Creamy hummus with tangy, chewy bread.

All the ingredients

All the ingredients

What’s that strange jar lurking in the background?  Why the end of a jar of homemade pickles!  Spicy garlic dill with homegrown dill, cukes, garlic, and serrano peppers.  The only way this lunch could be more homemade is if I had a little greenhouse to grow my own winter tomatoes and lettuce . . . .

Sandwich with pickled veggies for lunch

Dare you to try the pickled serrano!

Assemble ingredients and enjoy.  I recommend a bottle of hard cider alongside; West County Cider’s my favorite–and it’s local!  But as I’m off to work shortly, I had mine with a glass of local milk instead.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 6, 2010 11:43 pm

    What’s a sandwich like that without the pickle? 🙂

    Since it’s a pickle made from homegrown ingredients, I’d like you to enter this post in our Grow Your Own roundup this month. Full details at

    http://chezannies.blogspot.com/2010/01/rambutans-plus-grow-your-own.html

    • libolibri permalink*
      January 7, 2010 9:04 am

      The pickle really does make the sandwich. Thanks for the invite! I’ll be sending in my entry shortly.

Trackbacks

  1. January in review « The Eaten Word
  2. Grow Your Own roundup #38 | House of Annie

Leave a Reply

